Courage of Conscience Award


The Life Experience Program, now in its 43rd year, continues to provide individuals with learning challenges, complicated by neurological disorders or development disabilities, with opportunities to be actively involved in the community. Whether through vocational training or altruistic involvement in the Special Peace Corps, members are actively engaged in meaningful activities that help them secure their place in society.

Muhammad Ali

Muhammad Ali receives the 1994 Courage of Conscience Award from Pat Farren who was honored the following year for establishing Peacework Magazine of the American Friends Service Committee.

Dalai Lama receives Courage of Conscience Award from Lewis Randa at MIT in 1991 Harvard University Mind Science Conference.



The Peace Abbey honors individuals and organizations who are recognized internationally for their humanitarian and peace activism, along with local, grassroots, unsung heroes of social change. The Peace Abbey supports and encourages the noble work of individuals and groups who are, all too often, too little known, by bestowing on them the same recognition and award that Mother Teresa, the Dalai Lama, Rosa Parks, Muhammad Ali, Pete Seeger, Maya Angelou, and many other extraordinary individuals have received at Peace Abbey sponsored events and ceremonies.

Recipients are from the following countries:  USA, Sweden, Nicaragua, El Salvador, India, Tibet, Viet Nam, Egypt, Israel, Australia, China, Soviet Union, Cambodia, Argentina, Japan, England, Palestine, Rwanda, Nepal, Spain, Mexico, South Africa & Columbia.


Mother Teresa received the 2000 Courage of Conscience Award along with the Missionaries of Charity which she founded in Calcutta, India in 1950.  Her visit to the Life Experience School in 1988 led to the creation of the Peace Abbey Guesthouse which provided hospitality to people from throughout the world.  The Guesthouse closed in 2012.

There is no monetary value that accompanies this award, only the blessing that comes from receiving this prestigious recognition from a place whose mission is linking insufficiently recognized practitioners of nonviolent social change with the work of high profile humanitarians. It is our prayer that this humble gesture of appreciation brings recipients together in ways that inspire further service and creativity and leads to a world that is increasingly peaceful, safe, healthy and kind.

The Dalai Lama received the Courage of Conscience Award at Kresge Auditorium at MIT during Harvard University Mind Science Symposium in 1991. Lewis Randa presented the Award with the students at the Life Experience School.

Buddhist monk, humanitarian, spiritual teacher and exiled leader of Tibet for his example of compassion and forgiveness following the massacre of his people and culture by the occupying army of ChinaRead More

Complete list of recipients below:.


Join Our Mailing List


The Mission Continues!

Join the Conversation

[dc_social_wall id=”5245″]